Kufuor: We put Ghana on recovery

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Politics
Tags: , , , ,

In the face of attempts by some officials of the Atta Mills-led government to obliterate the achievements of the immediate past government, former President Kufuor has set the records straight, arguing that his government put Ghana on the path to economic recovery. First on the agenda towards the economic recovery roadmap, according to Mr. Kufuor, was to tell Ghanaians the true financial status of the country, and taking the hard decision to access the Highly Indebted Poor Countries (HIPC) initiative.“Some people would want to forget the state of affairs (of the country) in the year 2001 when we assumed office. But, the truth of the matter was that Ghana was already a Highly Indebted and Poor Country.

“Somehow, people don’t want to face the facts. The difference is that when we came in, we faced the facts. We told the truth about the real financial situation of the country.

It wasn’t easy. But, we did it with a resolution to correct the contradictions, inconsistencies and deformities in the economy. And the world appreciated it,” Mr. Kufuor told The Chronicle in an exclusive interview at his Dzorwulu residence.

According to him, the bold decisions his government took yielded results, thereby, convincing creditors “to begin to forgive Ghana and its debts.”

“In all, we got benefits of about $8 billion. The first was from the bilateral creditors – we were forgiven about $4 billion. With the multilaterals – we were forgiven a further $3.5 to $4 billion. That is how much we saved Ghana,” he stated emphatically.

With the HIPC initiative bearing fruit, Mr. Kufuor said his government quickly began formulating good policies and laying the parameters to better the lot of Ghanaians.

He told The Chronicle that his administration began repairing infrastructure that had broken down “to give hope to Ghanaians once again.”

“With the priorities that we laid, we quickly started working on infrastructure that had broken down massively. People forget the state of the road from Accra to Cape Coast, and even from Nkrumah Circle to Achimota-Ofankor.

“Travel on these roads now and see. We worked hard, not only on roads, but also on the energy sector. We continued with the thermal plants. We persisted with the Chinese. So they came in to build the Bui Dam, which is still ongoing. And these are some of our footprints,” he said.

With intense activities on a number of road networks, coupled with the boost in the energy sector, Mr. Kufuor said next on his agenda was to strike oil in commercial quantities for the country.

This, he said, was done by bringing on board the EO Group, which in turn engaged other partners in the oil exploration, to bring his (Mr. Kufuor) vision to reality.

Mr. Kufuor said he was saddened that some elements in the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) government refuse to give his administration credit for the various projects executed during his tenure.

“Now, people don’t even want to give us credit. Before we came to power, I said we will strike oil because we are going to generate a business-friendly atmosphere that will convince investors to the country. And that is how it started. It wasn’t just by chance.

People must give credit where credit is due, whatever the case may be,” he said in a deep voice.

He dismissed assertions that his government benefitted from the EO Group on the numerous agreements they entered into with their partner, Kosmos Energy.

“Our government gave blocs to more than ten companies. If it were our practice to take percentages, then I will dare you to go and talk to all of them and ask if Kufuor’s government asked for any percentage of the money they got.

“Tullow was brought in by… and Mr. Kofi … So you can ask them whether we were part of whatever negotiations they did with the partners, and whether we asked for anything from them. You can also check with Vitol Oil or Exxon Mobil. All of them got blocs. My policy was for Ghana to get oil,” he added.

In 2002, the EO Group, led by Kwame Bawuah Edusei and George Yaw Owusu, was brought on board by the Kufuor-led administration to help find oil for Ghana.

The Group later entered into an agreement with US-based Kosmos Energy to do the onerous task, which paid off in 2008.

That notwithstanding, Mr. Kufuor said he felt disappointed when some elements within the NDC decided to persecute and spread falsehoods about Kwame Edusei and George Owusu, the two leaders of the EO Group, who helped find oil for the country.

“These people have brought so much into our country. I honoured them for their dedication to the cause of the nation… The moment they started persecuting them, I felt very sad for the nation,” the ex-President said, his demeanour indicating that he was really disappointed with the sad turn of events.

The Chronicle will publish the entire interview with the former President on Monday.

Comments
  1. Dedra Burich says:

    I always was interested in this subject and still am, thank you for posting.

    Like

  2. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve take note your stuff previous to and you’re simply too magnificent. I really like what you’ve got right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which through which you assert it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a terrific website.

    Like

  3. Very interesting subject, thanks for posting.

    Like

  4. lawn mowing says:

    I have recently started a site, the info you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

    Like

  5. zyzz says:

    I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i am satisfied to show that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot surely will make sure to do not overlook this website and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

    Like

  6. lawn mowing says:

    Utterly indited content material , regards for selective information .

    Like

  7. excavation says:

    Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your web site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What a perfect web site.

    Like

  8. Great write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

    Like

  9. weddings says:

    I do believe all the concepts you have introduced for your post. They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too brief for novices. May just you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

    Like

  10. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I’m hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  11. I have recently started a blog, the info you offer on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work. “It is no use saying, ‘We are doing our best.’ You have got to succeed in doing what is necessary.” by Sir Winston Churchill.

    Like

  12. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information. “Health nuts are going to feel stupid someday, lying in hospitals dying of nothing.” by Redd Foxx.

    Like

  13. Keep up the fantastic work , I read few posts on this internet site and I think that your weblog is very interesting and has got lots of superb info .

    Like

  14. Respect to author , some wonderful selective information . “To have a grievance is to have a purpose in life.” by Alen Coren.

    Like

  15. But wanna say that this is very beneficial , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

    Like

  16. I feel this is among the so much significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. However should remark on some general issues, The site style is perfect, the articles is in point of fact great :D. Good process, cheers.

    Like

  17. Hello, Neat post. There is an issue together with your website in web explorer, would test this… IE still is the marketplace leader and a huge part of people will omit your wonderful writing due to this problem.

    Like

  18. Enjoyed looking through this, very good stuff, thanks .

    Like

  19. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy invaluable

    Like

  20. Zack Connor says:

    I don’t waste my free time in watching video tutorials but I love to read content on net and obtain updated from hottest technologies.

    Like

  21. I’ve recently started a blog, the information you provide on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

    Like

  22. I always was interested in this topic and still am, thanks for posting .

    Like

  23. I have not checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    Like

  24. Why YouTube video lessons are shared everywhere? I think one motive is that these are easy to get embed script and paste that script anyplace you desire.

    Like

  25. Yes, you are correct buddy, on a regular basis updating webpage is genuinely needed in support of Search engine optimization. Fastidious argument keeps it up.

    Like

  26. You have brought up a very fantastic points , appreciate it for the post.

    Like

  27. Real nice design and style and good articles , absolutely nothing else we want : D.

    Like

  28. cliquez ici says:

    Its good as your other content : D, thankyou for posting .

    Like

  29. I got what you intend, appreciate it for posting .Woh I am pleased to find this website through google. “The eye of a human being is a microscope, which makes the world seem bigger than it really is.” by Kahlil Gibran.

    Like

  30. Hiya! Exce llent blog post! I have been a frequent visitor to your site (whole lot like addict :P) of your website sadly I had a trouble. I am not actually absoluetly certain whether its the right web site to ask, but there are no spam comments. I get comments very frequently. Can you help me? Gives thanks!

    Like

  31. site says:

    Very interesting subject, thank you for posting.

    Like

  32. Would love to forever get updated outstanding website ! .

    Like

  33. Very interesting subject, thanks for posting.

    Like

  34. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact used to be a amusement account it. Glance advanced to far introduced agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

    Like

  35. Appreciate it for this grand post, I am glad I noticed this web site on yahoo.

    Like

  36. Someone essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I might state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and so far? I amazed with the research you made to create this actual publish extraordinary. Great job!

    Like

  37. Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, appreciate it. “Success doesn’t come to you…you go to it.” by Marva Collins.

    Like

  38. Alvin Grap says:

    I genuinely enjoy studying on this internet site , it has got wonderful content . “Heavier-than-air flying machines are impossible.” by Lord Kelvin.

    Like

  39. I enjoy your writing style genuinely enjoying this web site Kufuor: We put Ghana on recovery MyCommunityPortal “Take care of the luxuries and the necessities will take care of themselves.” by Dorothy Parker….

    Like

  40. I don’t commonly comment but I gotta state regards for the post on this special one : D.

    Like

  41. I have not checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    Like

  42. Only wanna remark that you have a very decent internet site , I like the design and style it really stands out.

    Like

  43. Thanks for an unbelievable publish, would examine your others reviews. many thanks for your ideas within this, I felt somewhat thump by this post. Many thanks again! You make a great moment. Has wonderful facts here. I feel that if more individuals consideration for it like this, they’d have got a better moment in time get the hold ofing the situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

