PUC Vice Rector tells African Leaders to invest in ICT education

Posted: August 1, 2010 in Education
Tags: , ,

The Vice Rector of Pentecost University College, Prof. Kwame Boasiako Omane-Antwi, has called on African Leaders and entrepreneurs to invest more resources into education, with special focus on Information Communication Technology (ICT) to help bridge the digital divide between the African continent and the developed world. “If there is one single issue worth your focused attention, it is the continuous fight to reduce illiteracy and school drop-out rates in Africa today. ICT, seemingly, holds the key to improved access to education in Africa,” he noted.

Prof. Omane-Antwi made this remark in Accra on Thursday at a ceremony to re-launch SOTM Limited under the theme ‘Making Scholarship and ICT a solution to the educational needs of Africa and Africans.’

According to him, education is a critical factor in economic expansion, without which the African continent will be lagging behind in terms of development.

“Increasing society level of education is positively correlated to high standards of living. Education is a human right that everyone, regardless of socio-economic background should enjoy. Education is fundamental to ending poverty and achieving the Millennium Development Goals,” said Prof. Omane-Antwi.

He said more than one hundred million children in the world, majority of whom are girls, never go to school, with millions more drop out before acquiring the basic skills they need.

He said “poverty is the main reason for their sad state of affairs and the situation is worst in Africa.”

To that effect, Prof. Omane-Antwi challenged African Leaders and entrepreneurs to look for strategic entry points to address the problem, saying ‘if we keep the system as it is, millions of our children will never get a chance to fulfill their promise because of poverty.”

He was however, happy about ICT infrastructural development in Ghana which is progressing at a rate of 2.9% compared to other low-income countries globally and above the 1.1% for sub-Sahara Africa.

The General Manager (GM) of SOTM, Alexander Osei-Wusu, however, sent words of encouragement to millions of youth across the African continent that his outfit has come to address their educational needs. With a vision to make education free through ordinary sms and to make ICT a tool for job creation, Osei-Wusu said his outfit has introduced a program called ‘TEXT 2 SCHOOL’.

In this program, school going age above eighteen are encouraged to text ‘SOTM’ to the short code 1443 at a cost of Gp50 on Kasapa, MTN, Vodafone or Zain networks.

Funds generated from this program, according to the GM would be used to sponsor hundreds of students in various levels of education every year in Africa.

Through their monthly draws, five winners would be awarded a scholarship amount of two thousand Ghana Cedis to further their education.

“The full amount shall not be paid in cash to the winner. SOTM shall pay such amounts directly through cheques or payment orders to the institution in which the winner is enrolled until the amount is fully utilized. This is to ensure that the amount won is not misapplied by the winner,” noted Osei-Wusu.

Comments
  1. Emmanuel anku says:

    Thanks a lot 4 what U have done 4 the youth of Africa.GOD BLESS U ALL.

    Like

  2. I got what you mean , appreciate it for posting .Woh I am thankful to find this website through google. “You must pray that the way be long, full of adventures and experiences.” by Constantine Peter Cavafy.

    Like

  3. I always was interested in this topic and stock still am, thank you for posting.

    Like

  4. I gotta bookmark this website it seems very beneficial very beneficial

    Like

  5. lawn care says:

    Good write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s website, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

    Like

  6. obviously like your web site however you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very bothersome to inform the reality however I’ll surely come again again.

    Like

  7. Thanks, I’ve just been looking for information approximately this subject for a while and yours is the best I have came upon till now. However, what about the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

    Like

  8. XMAS says:

    Greetings! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Appreciate it!

    Like

  9. excavation says:

    I got what you intend, appreciate it for putting up.Woh I am lucky to find this website through google. “Finley is going over to get a new piece of bat.” by Jerry Coleman.

    Like

  10. Some really prime blog posts on this internet site , saved to my bookmarks .

    Like

  11. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue along with your website in web explorer, may test this… IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a good part of other folks will pass over your magnificent writing due to this problem.

    Like

  12. Very nice design and style and wonderful subject material , very little else we require : D.

    Like

  13. Enjoyed looking through this, very good stuff, regards . “We swallow greedily any lie that flatters us, but we sip little by little at a truth we find bitter.” by Denis Diderot.

    Like

  14. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my web site so i got here to “return the desire”.I am attempting to find issues to enhance my web site!I guess its good enough to use a few of your ideas!!

    Like

  15. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to know so much about this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you simply could do with a few percent to power the message home a bit, however other than that, that is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  16. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thx again! “One never goes so far as when one doesn’t know where one is going.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

    Like

  17. Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity on your put up is simply spectacular and that i can assume you’re knowledgeable in this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to take hold of your feed to stay updated with approaching post. Thank you a million and please continue the gratifying work.

    Like

  18. But wanna input that you have a very nice web site , I like the design it really stands out.

    Like

  19. You can definitely see your expertise within the paintings you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart. “No man should marry until he has studied anatomy and dissected at least one woman.” by Honore’ de Balzac.

    Like

  20. Merely wanna input that you have a very nice site, I enjoy the style it really stands out.

    Like

  21. Hey, you used to write excellent, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your super writings. Past several posts are just a little out of track! come on!”To be content with what one has is the greatest and truest of riches.” by Cicero.

    Like

  22. Only wanna tell that this is invaluable , Thanks for taking your time to write this. “Truth is the summit of being justice is the application of it to affairs.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

    Like

  23. I like this web site very much, Its a very nice spot to read and find info .

    Like

  24. I believe you have observed some very interesting details , appreciate it for the post.

    Like

  25. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  26. I think you have noted some very interesting details , appreciate it for the post.

    Like

  27. This post about how to embed a YouTube video code is actually useful in favor of fresh web viewers. Pleasant employment, keep it up.

    Like

  28. Hi there all, here every one is sharing these kinds of familiarity, thus it’s good to read this website, and I used to visit this website every day.

    Like

  29. Very shortly this website will be famous among all blogging and site-building visitors, due to it’s good posts

    Like

  30. Good post and a pleasant summation of the problem. My only problem with the analysis is given that much of the population joined the chorus of deregulatory mythology, given vested interest is inclined toward perpetuation of the current system and given a lack of a popular cheerleader for your arguments, I’m not seeing much in the way of change.

    Like

  31. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for info approximately this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve found out so far. However, what about the bottom line? Are you certain in regards to the source?

    Like

  32. I conceive you have noted some very interesting points , thanks for the post.

    Like

  33. As soon as I found this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

    Like

  34. Hello! Extremely good article! I am a daily visitor (far like addict :P) to your website truthfully I had a difficulty. I am only far from being pretty sure if its the right place to question, but there are no spam comments. I receive comments just about every day. Are you going to you assist me? I praise you!

    Like

  35. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!

    Like

  36. I regard something truly interesting about your web blog so I saved to favorites .

    Like

  37. I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site :).

    Like

  38. Melida Keltt says:

    Wohh precisely what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting . “Study men, not historians.” by Harry S Truman.

    Like

  39. Some really nice and useful information on this web site, also I think the pattern holds great features.

    Like

  40. Yay google is my queen aided me to find this outstanding internet site ! . “A tough lesson in life that one has to learn is that not everybody wishes you well.” by Dan Rather.

    Like

  41. Deference to op , some excellent entropy. “If you don’t leap, you’ll never know what it’s like to fly.” by Guy Finley.

    Like

  42. I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again! “All that is gold does not glitter not all those that wander are lost.” by J. R. R. Tolkien.

    Like

  43. I am not very wonderful with English but I come up this PUC Vice Rector tells African Leaders to invest in ICT education MyCommunityPortal very easygoing to translate:)

    Like

  44. site says:

    I went over this site and I believe you have a lot of great info, saved to fav (:.

    Like

  45. Very interesting details you have remarked, appreciate it for putting up. “Lefty Wise guy dont carry wallets, they carry their money in a roll….beaner on the outs” by Donnie Brasco.

    Like

  46. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

